Smoking a right, breathing a luxury?

It’s probably not what you expected, since my PTSD and my other disabilities would make it difficult for me to sit outside (comfortable chairs anyone?). But really, the main reason why I can never enjoy an ice-cream or a diet coke on a terrace, especially when the weather is nice, is because people just really have to smoke.

Sometimes it feels as if their freedom, their right to smoke, is more important than my health or my freedom to leave my house, or sit on the balcony or in the garden (neighbours smoke). Or get inside a hospital without choking. Apparently breathing is far less important, it’s just my health you know?
I know not every smoker thinks like this, but sadly most people do think and act as if I’m one big fat liar, since smoking can’t possible be this harmful. Even non-smokers usually think I’m exaggerating when I have to get inside because someone is smoking. Or when I ask them to not put my wheelchair there, because someone is smoking. Or when I walk into a room and wonder if a person who recently smoked just walked by this room.

no-smoking-2778
[Picture of a no smoking sign (cigarette with a red circle around it and a red stripe through it) and next to it the text: Please  no smoking.]

I wish I wasn’t this asthmatic. I wish my lungs weren’t as bad and I wish doctors would help me with it. I have an inhaler but it doesn’t work for these unplanned moments when I completely can’t breath. I can only use it before I’m going to do sports. I’d love to go outside, but I can’t. Smokers are everywhere. It’s even more saddening that smokers have been reducing the health of my lungs too. For example: I had to live for a few months with someone (a narcissist) who would smoke everywhere in the house and I’ve never recovered from that. He knew what he was doing to me, but he didn’t care. In stead he had other people bully me for it and force me to stand next to him in the smoke. He would ‘suddenly’ smoke a lot more when I was around….

I’m sorry for my rage, but I feel like too many people just don’t know how harmful smoking can be for other people. That it can really be a severe problem and not just someone thinking it has a ‘bad smell’. I obviously don’t always feel as negative about this problem as I do now. But it is a severe problem that I have to deal with everyday and it really takes the fun out of going anywhere.

Do you have asthmatic problems? How do you deal with smoke? Do you have any tips? I usually put my hands in front of my mouth, then it takes a bit longer for me to faint.

Photo source

Leave a Reply

