Petition: Shut down the page of the “men’s right activists” who want to legalize rape

Today I came across this petition. I recently learned about these “men’s rights activists” and it makes me sick. The things he says are horrible and I couldn’t read his blog. I had to protect myself from him as a multiple rape victim/survivor. Not reading his ‘diary’ doesn’t mean that I’m turning a blind eye and I keep up-to-date with news articles. I hope everyone will sign this petition, not just women but also men. It is against the policy of Facebook and against human rights.

You can find the petition here.

“You may have heard recently about Roosh Valizadeh — the men’s rights activist who argues that rape should be legalised. Roosh recently planned several meetups for likeminded men in communities around the globe. Thankfully, the gatherings have since been cancelled due in large part to the widespread backlash from women’s rights proponents. But the work is far from done and the danger still remains.

Roosh V currently has nearly 20,000 members on his Facebook page, which he uses to spread his message of hate towards women. Using Facebook as his platform, Roosh V encourages thousands of men to objectify, hate, and even abuse women.

Facebook’s community standards are clear — “Content that attacks people based on their actual or perceived race, ethnicity, national origin, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, disability or disease is not allowed.”

Well, last year Roosh V posted this to his blog: “I propose that we make the violent taking of a woman not punishable by law when done off public grounds.” This hate speech is a direct attack on women, and should be recognised as such by Facebook.

When the international community came together against the men’s rights gatherings, we proved that the abuse can be stopped. Now we need to make our voices heard once more to remove Roosh’s pro-rape, anti-women Facebook presence before it spreads any further.

Our voices count. Sign the petition to urge Mark Zuckerberg to shut down this hate-filled community.”

36 thoughts on “Petition: Shut down the page of the “men’s right activists” who want to legalize rape

  1. I’m thinking he is an Internet troll, just trying to create an angry response for negative attention. It is disgusting. I signed the petition, but I can’t believe Facebook needs a petition to see that this is against their policy and needs to be taken down. Just report it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope he’s ‘just’ an internet troll, but I think he isn’t. He seems very serious and he also organized ‘protests’ in the past (but had to cancel because of negative internet response). It’s saddening he still gets so much support.. There are extreme people everywhere… But this also shows that we can actually do something about this 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow I had no idea this was an actual thing! I am going to reblog this and share the knowledge this should never have been a thing. Thanks for enlightening me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem 🙂 I was shocked too when I read the first news article about his marches/protests. It seemed like a very sick joke, but he seems very serious. Seems crazy that there are still people thinking like this about women and rape…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on femininematerz and commented:
    Unbelievable that some men are pushing a petition to legalize rape! This guy Roosh Valizadeh and his mean friends have to be stopped so join in the petition to shut him down from propagating this evil intent! We can’t have our girls,sisters, and women getting raped freely…NO WAY!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I signed the petition. He was in Canada awhile ago and his hate seminars were shut down. I’m shocked that he’s still allowed to exist in this world of human rights observation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

