“Validated by science”

Very important in the medical field is scientific research. It seem to be simple: you formulate a question you can research, you form an expectation and the way you thought of doing your research. You do these tests, don’t forget the control group, and here’s your conclusion. It can lead to a new diagnosis or a cure. Of course scientific research is incredibly complicated and usually takes many years. With my studies I can experience a tiny bit how this works. I find it both interesting and dull at the same time.

Despite all the regulations, which include double tests under the same circumstances (but one for the control group) and that the research should be able to be done again etc. There still go things wrong. I think scientific research is important, but I’m worried about the current view of most people.

proof

[Image of a magnifying glass over the word proof]

Scientific proof doesn’t have to mean that it is THE truth. There are a lot of researches that contradict each other. More importantly, that it doesn’t have scientific proof yet (for example because there hasn’t been a lot of testing done about this subject), doesn’t mean that it isn’t true.

And that is what I often miss in the medical world. There are so many illnesses that haven’t been ‘declared’ yet. Sure, we have come a long way, but we still have an incredibly long way to go. I think it is a never-ending thing. Illnesses will keep developing and we will keep trying to find cures. I don’t think that us keep trying is a bad thing, but sometimes I’m afraid that people will stop trying. This usually happens nowadays, because a lot of money can be earned with illnesses. Finding (another) cure or medication that will slow it down or make the symptoms less worse, can ‘cost’ a lot of money (of course scientific research and developing treatments also actually cost a lot of money). For example the pharmaceutical industry has a lot of say in this. I can’t remember the source, but I remember that my chemistry teacher said they already figured out a cure for some chronic and disabling diseases, I’m not sure which ones it were exactly. But the pharmaceutical companies wouldn’t invest money, because they could earn a lot by this chronic disease, right now. The cure would earn them less money, so less profit. That’s why it wasn’t ‘curable’ yet. I was outraged. I think life is more important than money. If you can make someone’s disease disappear, or “disappear” as long as they keep taking the medication, I think we are obliged to do that. Life is hard enough as it is and as a “disabled”, well, I think This post puts it well: the world isn’t made for you.

Same for certain diseases that some (or many) doctors think are purely psychological. They earn so much money from the ‘revalidation projects’, that they are denying scientific proof that shows that it does affect the body, that it is visible in the body. For example the Netherlands does that. And that’s why for certain diseases you should go to Germany or the US, because here it’s not an official disease and doesn’t have a cure. And often other countries do have it.
This also means that we should improve sharing scientific data. A lot of tests are done, at almost the same time, in many different places around the world. A lot of them didn’t have to be done. This saves money and also reduces animal testing for example.

There’s a lot that could improve in the medical world. That’s good, it keeps everyone sharp. We need to keep striving for better, because we’re talking about people’s lifes that depend on it. And I’m really happy when “I’m validated by science”. That my symptoms aren’t “made up”, but it actually is something. However, I wish there was more between that. I believe there isn’t just “scientifically proven” and “not true”, also in the medical field. If more doctors would practise this, I think a lot of people could get better treatment. Or at least accept their health issues more and live happier lifes, also because they can get help they need. Just because they aren’t sure yet about how it works, doesn’t mean you can’t be “crippled” because of the symptoms. And it doesn’t mean you can never do anything about it to make life easier.

I just thought of this name “validated by science” recently. It is how I feel about it. Other people mark me as “liar” if they don’t have a lot of scientific proof. Even though I’m not a liar. Hopefully, things like these will be “validated” in the future. With eventually a cure, but first better treatment to make the symptoms less awful or the disease less progressive.

Photo source

8 thoughts on ““Validated by science”

  1. That’s just wrong that the cures aren’t used in the interest of greed. I think a lot of doctors could improve on seeing their patients equally as people. I personally feel so let down by the ‘professionals’ – I need something that actually works to take away most of my pain.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree. I feel as if a lot of doctors ‘lost’ the ability of ‘being human’. You are a patient, not a person. They are a professional. They have a lot of prejudices and generalisations and often don’t really listen anymore. Or can imagine something. I mean, there’s a reason there’s more and more focus on ‘contact with patients’ during their studies. They have to learn that something might be painful to hear… That’s what I mean with ‘no longer really human’. Of course there are exceptions, luckily.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t know that, that the doctors are learning more about ‘contact with patients’ during their studies! That’s a good sign. Maybe that’s why this new young doctor I have seems genuintely interested in helping me. (Unfortunately seen him just a couple of times and he’s hard to get to see).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes it is a good sign. Although there should be even more focus on it. Now it’s usually just in their first year(s) and just a few lectures. And it would be nice if they would include it in the refresher courses/supplementary training doctors have to (or is it a choice? I don’t know) follow throughout their careers.
        It really is a good possibility that it helped making a better click between you and the younger doctor. Although I don’t want to say all older doctors are bad, because that’s not fair. But since they do this, there have been better results (more patients feeling like they’ve been taking seriously and treated well).

        Like

  2. Yes I agree and I also have heard of seriously ill people who’ve been turned down for government assistance because they don’t have a diagnosis of their symptoms. Just because someone’s symptoms don’t have a name to explain them doesn’t mean they’re not real. Something should be done about that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that happens too often. Or when they do have a name, but that’s it: just a name. That happens when they keep seeing a group of symptoms, but they still don’t actually know what it is, where it comes from and how to treat it. When that’s the case and not much research has been done yet, they’ll throw it unto ‘medically unexplainable’, so it’s all just the “patient’s” thoughts, so they shouldn’t get any help because then they’ll keep pretending to be sick…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’ll just keep fighting this stigma, these prejucides and someday there will be more people ‘turned around’ than the ‘old-fashioned’ ones. I just wish it would go a bit faster and that there would be more lectures for medical professionals about these very real diseases or symptoms. But we can do it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

